What Would You Do if You Found Out Your Spouse Was Secretly on that Credit Crack?


In a letter to TheSimpleDollar.com, Archie writes:

In our marriage, my wife and I have agreed not to open financial statements addressed to each other. We supposedly did this so that we would be able to hide things like gift purchases from each other. Whenever we talked about our finances, we just talked about balances on accounts and didn’t worry about individual items on each other’s bills.

Over the last few years, I’d noticed more and more bills from various banks sent to my wife, but I hadn’t really thought too much about it. Yesterday, we received a call from someone from Citi who wanted to speak to my wife about her account and made it clear that the account was overdrawn and past due.

I was frustrated and worried, so I dug through the mail and found her most recent statement from Citi, which was unopened. I opened it. She had a balance of over $7,500 on it. I was just shocked, so I opened some of the other statements with her name on it that I could find. From just what I could gather in a few minutes, I found that she has $30,000 at least in credit card debt.

I put all of the statements in my bedside table for now. I don’t know what to do next. We certainly don’t have $30,000 to pay these off right now and even the minimum payments are difficult. It looks like my wife has been juggling accounts a lot because there aren’t many payments on our recent bank statements.

What do I do next? I don’t know what to do and I’m afraid of the big fight we’re going to have.

So we open this up to you, our wonderful readers and ask what you would do in this situation?

Don’t forget to head over to one of our favorite sites The Simple Dollar and read the rest of the post! http://www.thesimpledollar.com/2010/05/18/privacy-honesty-marriage-and-debt/

*Update: Wow, spousal credit crack abuse claims have been popping up all over the internet! –>

http://www.getrichslowly.org/blog/2010/05/19/is-your-spouse-hiding-debt-recovering-from-financial-infidelity/?cp=1#comment-461321

2 thoughts on “What Would You Do if You Found Out Your Spouse Was Secretly on that Credit Crack?

Leave a Reply

