The NEW “I Have a Dream” Speech


I have a dream. I have a dream that 1 day little black boys & little black girls will no longer be seen runnin around with S-Curls and european helmet weaves talm bout they’re proud to be black.

I have a dream. I have a dream that one day black women who wear lacefronts because they say they do it for “variety” actually have a single damn pic posted of that 1 day out the year they wore their hair natural! There is NO such thing as variety if your hair is ALWAYS straight 364 days out of the year. I may be sleep and havin dreams but i can still count dammit.

I have a dream. I have a dream that one day my black people will walk into Best Buy and purchase a TV without whippin out a Best Buy card credit card. A Best Buy credit card that was stolen in the first place!

I have a dream. I have a dream that one day we will choose health insurance over rims, groceries over Loubitins & maxing out 401ks over trips to Jamaica mon. I have a dream.

I have a dream that Tyrone will be able to explain to me what a derivitive is instead of being able to name all the members of Dipset.

I have a dream! I have a dream that the role models our kids look up to stop pimpin them for checks and actually talk about something progressive on their rap albums. Teach me how to flip a stock dammit! I have a dream. I have a dream that one day my black people stop using credit cards and debt as an extension of our incomes and instead actually use ***drumroll please*** INCOME AS EXTENSION OF OUR INCOMES!

I have a dream that one day we stop feeding our black teenagers the lies go to school, get a job and get some debt as the three step progress to happiness in america.

I have a dream. I have a dream that our black parents actually stop and help read their children them damn student loan documents before they sign and I also have a dream that these parents realize you too can save up for college. Other races arent the only ones who are allowed to graduate without debt and start into the world with a clean slate.

The fact is I have many dreams. But you know what my nightmare is? That we’re all asleep but I’m the only one still dreaming.

Yeah I said it.

-ManAgainstDebt

3 comments

  1. I believe that dream is one we should all work to see come true. It is sad, but many of ‘us’ have no aspirations and that lack of goals is precipitating out our ultimate demise… We may hate to admit it, but many of us have resulted to living our worst nightmare… being SLAVES!!! We are slaves to credit cards, debt, weaves, loans, and (shamefully) ignorance…

Leave a Reply

